Christmas in July: My return to running

My mid-run face shows just how draining this run was. (But trust me, I was far happier to be running than this photo might indicate.)

My mid-run face shows just how draining this run was. (But trust me, I was far happier to be running than this photo might indicate.)

As I stepped into those all-too-familiar gray shorts, I got goosebumps. This was it, the day I had long been waiting for. It had been 67 days since I last pulled on those well-worn UnderArmour shorts. That’s how long it had been since I last ran.

Thursday, after 2 months and 6 days – and 5 physical therapy appointments – I went for a run.

I had strict orders from my physical therapist to limit this run to 1 mile, running in 5-minute intervals and walking for 1 minute, before resuming my run for another 5. If I felt any pain at all, my PT told me, I’d have to stop.

To me, Thursday seemed like Christmas in July. It was an unexpected gift. You don’t realize how much something means to you, no matter how trivial it is, until it’s ripped from you. But that’s life. There are struggles you must endure, hurdles you must clear, and, yes, injuries you must heal, before you can truly succeed and find happiness.

Going through my usual stretching routine...which felt so foreign to me.

Going through my usual stretching routine…which felt so foreign to me.

Yep, it certainly was Christmas in July for more than one reason. I had unknowingly dropped a green T-shirt onto my shoulders and slipped my feet into those shiny new red running shoes. (I looked like a damn wreath.)

As for the run itself, it felt good – literally and figuratively. There was no immediate pain. None lingering, either. There was a lot of sweat, however, showing just how great an impact a 2-month training break can take on your fitness. I took an extra precaution while running, too. To limit the pounding my foot would endure by hitting the pavement, I chose to run the mile across the front lawns of my Jenkintown neighbors’ homes. (Sorry, everyone.)

The next step is to alternate run-rest days until I visit with my PT next Thursday. If everything holds up, I can ramp up my rehab to perhaps 15-minute runs or 1.5-mile runs, and continue that model of slow, cautious progression.

Family and friends know about the blog. I’ve been asked if I have any regrets about going for the PR in Temple’s Alumni 5k, that being the root of my injury, and that being the beginning of the end for my 123-day running streak.

Snail's pace

Snail’s pace

The answer? No. I’ve led my life choosing never to give up, to fight for what I believe in, to never let anyone tell me what I can’t do, and to always strive to be the best. Even in injury, I’d like to think I’ve achieved all of that. This is only the beginning.

Thursday: 1.12 miles, 13:40 (Weather: Hot and humid, 87 degrees)
Today: Did not run
YTD: 248.36 miles, 35:13:26

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Christmas in July: My return to running

  1. Pingback: A little snag in the plan | VITO RUNS 365

  2. Pingback: Much-needed optimism | VITO RUNS 365

Leave a comment