Finally, good news

No more lying around. (Sorry, Lucy)

No more lying around. (Sorry, Lucy)

On a sheet of paper, my physical therapist asked that I jot down a number: the percentage of usability in my right foot. From 0 to 100, I was asked to assign a digit that would represent just how far I thought my right Achilles and heel had progressed.

With a few pen strokes, I put down an honest assessment: 90-95 percent.

I breezed through my routine of Achilles and plantar fascia stretches and strengthening work with no issues. I answered all of the questions that followed each drill. My PT was most impressed with the report about having no incidents in Ireland, even with a steady daily dose of walking.

And then…the good news: I was told I can run again.

Beginning tomorrow, I’m allowed to “run” 1 mile every other day until my next physical therapy appointment. (Run Thursday, rest Friday, run Saturday, and so on.) But here are the stipulations I must adhere to:

  • Run 5 minutes, walk 1 minute, until I complete the 1-mile run.
  • Run no more than 1 mile, under any circumstances.
  • Wear the pair of my newest running shoes, to capitalize on the best arch support.
  • Reduce my running gait to a slow trot, not wanting to tempt fate or experience a flare-up.
  • Suck it up and accept a 12-to-15-minute pace (for now).
  • Use caution and stop if I experience any pain.
  • Visit my PT a week from today to discuss how the weeklong experiment went, as well as further treatment options.
Tomorrow, I'll go for my first run since May 3, when I completed the Broad Street Run on a strained Achilles tendon.

Tomorrow, I’ll go for my first run since May 3, when I completed the Broad Street Run on a strained Achilles tendon.

This is a victory, albeit a small one.

For more than 2 months, since completing the Broad Street Run, I’ve been reduced to rest. And lots of it. I was told to protect that injured right foot, that any significant physical activity could reinjure a partially healed Achilles tendon, and that — without care — this could turn into a pernicious 3-to-4-month setback. So I sat on the couch, vegged out, watched a lot of LOST DVDs, and chilled with Lucy.

Along the way, I grew frustrated, impatient, and jealous. I cried. I pouted. I came up with theories that my body had betrayed me. (I know. It’s ridiculously vain.)

Now it’s time to take the next step in my rehabilitation. Is it tomorrow yet?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Finally, good news

  1. Pingback: Christmas in July | VITO RUNS 365

  2. Pingback: A little snag in the plan | VITO RUNS 365

  3. Pingback: Much-needed optimism | VITO RUNS 365

  4. Pingback: Injury running its course | VITO RUNS 365

Leave a comment